RR Cooper Ch 7 : Know Thy Enemy

Knowing who is an enemy makes the difference between the survival and death during the battlefield.  At the design process, the developers are your enemy.  I regret I expressed it too strongly.  It makes it vulnerable to the counter-argument.  However I express it that way because it is true.

Why they are your enemy?  Because once they write a single line of the code, they will stick to it.  And worse, they can implement most of the user requirements in a few hours or days.  So they think interaction design takes too long, and are not sure if it is necessary at all.  While waiting, they got tempted to write a few line of codes to implement user requirement.  So how about beginning implementation while waiting?  Oops it started working.  And I finished 90% of function already.  So how about bringing a designer and ask him/her to make the existing product look better and declare done!  Nobody likes the delaying project.  And every management will love the guy who delivers project is done before schedule.   Oh, I forgot the guys interviewing people and sketching rough drawings on the wall.  They bring something to the table finally.  But who cares?  The project seems to be done, and no one in the management will like the news the existing product should be made again to reflect the change interaction designer brings.

That’s why those innocent looking, nice and kind developers are enemy in a nutshell.  For this Cooper warns strongly do not let the coding begin before the interaction design process.  Also that is why I kept interrupting Dr.V about the idea of two team (developer and interaction designer) working simultaneously.

So you know the identity of the enemy.  It’s time to learn their characteristics so that we can defend ourselves.  In this purpose, I recommend reading the Joel on software blog.  He is very smart like every other developers.  But what makes him really stands is that he has the rare talent of explaining simply with the humor using written language.

7 thoughts on “RR Cooper Ch 7 : Know Thy Enemy

  1. 🙂 But I really like the enemy. They are really, really, nice and good students. I know what you are saying and I’ve read the book. But in each given situation you have to adapt and do the best you can, even if it means (gasp!) making friends with the enemy.

    • I like them also PERSONALY. I am also from the engineering side, so I have a blood of developers in myself, too. It’s nothing personal. I know what you mean and I agree. Flexibility! I just have to write a blog about anything to survive in this course. And alas I am already behind the given quota. I merely hope this warning has some effect for the innocent interaction designer to survive in the office politics.

      • 🙂 You have many things to blog about… here is an idea: educate people about IDEO. Post some of the videos we talked about in the car.

  2. RR: Info Architecture; Prototyping « intuinno by Deok Gun Park

  3. Thank you for sharing superb informations. Your web-site is very cool. I’m impressed by the details that you’ve on this website. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this website page, will come back for more articles. You, my pal, ROCK! I found simply the info I already searched everywhere and just couldn’t come across. What a perfect site.

  4. I just want to mention I’m all new to weblog and certainly savored your blog site. Likely I’m going to bookmark your blog post . You actually come with excellent posts. Many thanks for revealing your blog site.

Leave a Reply

